Friday, December 26, 2008

Our Snowiest Christmas So Far...

The "Arctic Blast" ( I scoff at how the news loves to sensationalize) of 2008 hit us pretty hard. We got a LOT of snow, which was really pretty, but dangit, I haven't been able to drive my car in a week! We ended up with so much snow, about 18 inches, that we've been house bound, only getting out after our neighbor towed the van out of the driveway for us. Then we have to park across the street, headed downhill so we can "ski" the car out of our neighborhood. Then we take the main streets back up the hill when we return, only to "ski" down again until we bring the van to rest in it's spot across the street. Boy am I glad I found my snow boots from a few years back, they have saved me from becoming a permanent part of the landscape a few times.




Our Christmas was really lovely. We had my parents over for dinner on Christmas eve and we enjoyed watching the MOTAB on a PBS special.




After dinner we opened our jammies and modeled for a picture.



Christmas morning we had big fat snow falling but we weren't worried, no, there were presents to open and cinnamon rolls and egg casserole to enjoy for breakfast...a tradition in our house.


That afternoon we headed out to Salem for dinner and presents at Norm and Marcia's house.




In spite of the weather and transportation issues it's been so fun to have everyone home and safe and sound. There are puzzles to work on, new toys to play with, lots of yummy food and treats to eat, friends who pop in and say hello, and just warmth and coziness which makes the holidays what they are supposed to be, special and memorable. Now on to the New Year!

Senior pictures for Maddie






It's that time again, the deadline for the yearbook senior picture looms and we must get them taken. We had our good friend do them for us, she did such a nice job on Kate's. Maddie was a real natural and we ended up with many nice shots. Here's a few of my favorites.

Tuesday, December 2, 2008

For When You REALLY Have to Go

For those of you who aren't familiar, we are big Portland Trailblazer fans. This is a fairly new development since we drafted Greg Oden and Thom got excited enough to buy season tickets. Now we are deep into the whole Rip City fever again. There were many years, especially the "Jailblazer" years where we were totally disillusioned with the team but now they seem to be on an upswing. So, once in awhile if I can't go Dallin gets to go in my place. This is fun for him, he loves it, and has even made it on the big screen a few times because he's so stinkin' cute. Some time during each game a big inflatable blimp flies around the arena dropping envelopes onto the clamoring crowd. The contents of the envelopes have always been a mystery to us because we have never, hardly ever, even come close to getting one to flutter down to us. Gee, could it be a gift certificate for $50 for a nice restaurant, or some cool Blazer gear from the merch store? How about gift cards for Fred Meyer or a coupons for free car washes? We didn't know, but we were hoping that one day we would be the lucky recipients of these wonderfully anonymous gifts. Finally our time arrived, well, Dallin's time arrived I should say. The envelope fluttered right down to our seats and since most of our seatmates were out getting chicken fingers and beer the competition for the coveted prizes was at an all time low. That beautiful envelope made a beeline for our seats, and Thom dove for it like it was the game winning ball. I get all of this information secondhand because of course I wasn't there, but while I'm taking in the story I'm so excited that our dream had been realized and we had netted a cool prize. I wait, patiently, to hear what fabulous booty is now ours when Thom pulls out the envelope to show me. On the front of the crumpled paper is the cheerful logo for Honey Pot. The famous portapotty company. My eyebrows raise in question. "Huh? We get free use of a portapotty? I don't get it." Then Thom proudly pulls out the shirt. Granted, it's a really nice quality t-shirt, but who the bleep is gonna want to wear it???? There, bright, bold, and clear as day is that lovely logo. All that anticipation, hope, and effort, all to end up advertising a place no one wants to go...unless they REALLY have to. Yay.

Monday, December 1, 2008

Kicking and Screaming

I can't believe I heard it come out of my Dr.'s mouth. It was my periodic eye exam. I went in expecting the usual treatment...but not this. The "B" word. Said directly to my face, in a calm and collected manner, like he says it to all his female patients on a daily basis. I was shocked, dismayed, disappointed, saddened, and depressed it had come to this. Why should I have to put up with this kind of talk? Who does he think he is? If I were young and pretty he wouldn't have had the NERVE to say that word to me. I guess when you get to a certain age it's inevitable that the "B" word be thrown around like no big deal. But it IS a big deal. It changes the way I think of myself. I begin to wonder if life will ever be the same again, carefree with promise on the horizon. Will I even be able to SEE the horizon??? I suppose I'm going to have to accept that things are changing. Every time I go back to my Dr. he will say that dirty word and there's nothing I can do about it. I can only hope to find the cutest frames for my new glasses that I can. Frames that won't reveal my secret, the secret of the "B" word.....bifocal.